Tags

, ,

Growing up, my mother did a terrific job of having regular meals for our family which we enjoyed at the table together without the television or radio or any other distractions.  Sunday  mornings were no different except that instead of getting ready to go off to school afterward, we were ready to go to church.  Mom didn’t skimp on her menus.  It was standard breakfast fare.  I was not raised eating Pop Tarts and cold cereal.

My husband and I have kept up certain parts of this tradition for ourselves.  We eat our meals together at a table, usually with music, but not with television.  We also eat out quite often.  Sunday breakfasts are no exception.

Today we will be joining my mother, brother, and sister-in-law for breakfast at a restaurant.  I’m craving the multi-grain pancakes even now.  After that, we’ll go to church to worship together.

You know, breakfast really is the most important meal of the day.  It’s the prelude to everything else you’ll do.  It deserves a place at the table.

